Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

5 July 2024 Media Statement: GRDM Executive Mayor, Deputy Executive Mayor, Whip of Council and Mayoral Committee, elected

Media Statement: GRDM Executive Mayor, Deputy Executive Mayor, Whip of Council and Mayoral Committee, elected

5 July 2024

The Garden Route District Municipality (GRDM) is proud to announce the inauguration of several of its new executive leadership today, including a new Executive Mayor, Ald. Andrew Stroebel who hails from Hessequa where he was the Speaker for one-and-a-half terms since 2016/17. Today’s proceedings follow the National and Provincial election outcomes which resulted in former GRDM Executive Mayor, Ald. Memory Booysen moving to the Western Cape Legislature. Booysen was sworn in on 13 June 2024 alongside 41 other politicians.

During today’s inauguration, the Western Cape Minister for Infrastructure, MEC Tertuis Simmers was present. Mayors from the seven (7) local municipalities, members of the public and media, were also present in person and some logged in virtually to witness the special occasion.


The new GRDM Executive Mayor, Ald. Stroebel from the DA was elected unopposed. Subsequently, the Deputy Executive Mayor, Ald. Vlancio Donson from the Independent Civic Organisation of South Africa (ICOSA) was also elected unopposed. He replaces Ald. Gert Van Niekerk from the Freedom Front Plus. A new Whip of Council, Cllr Monique Simmers was also elected unopposed. She replaces Cllr Betsie van Noordwyk from the DA, who recently submitted her resignation from this position, which she held since 2021.

During Mayor Stroebel’s acceptance speech, his key message was his commitment to addressing the pressing issues of service delivery, infrastructure improvement, and sustainable economic development through transparent governance and open communication. He emphasised his commitment to financial sustainability, and highlighted the importance of performance-based accountability, environmental conservation, and teamwork to build a prosperous, inclusive, and resilient future for the district municipality.

Monde Stratu, the GRDM Municipal Manager, also welcomed and congratulated the new leadership on taking office. He committed that the administration would follow through on the goals as set out by the Executive Mayor.

“We as the administration are ready to hit the road running with what is expected,” said Stratu.

The profile of Ald. Stroebel is available here:

The acceptance speech by the Executive Mayor can be accessed here:


The Executive Mayor also announced his Mayoral Committee Members today. Mayoral Committee Members form part of the committees outlined in Section 80 of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act 117 of 2008. Such a committee is established primarily to assist the Executive Mayor.

Those in these critical positions will oversee the following portfolios:

  • Community Services: Cllr Jobieth Hoogbaard
  • Corporate Services: Ald. Nompumelelo Ndayi
  • Financial Services: Ald. Dave Swart
  • Planning and Economic Development: Ald. Rosina Ruiters
  • Property and Asset Management: Cllr Hilton Stroebel
  • Roads and Transport Services: Cllr Daniel Cronje

This inauguration marks a new chapter for the GRDM as the Administration and Council continues to strive for excellence in service delivery and community development.

Feature Image: Newly elected political leadership at GRDM, from left to right: Ald. Vlancio Donson (Deputy Executive Mayor), Ald. Andrew Stroebel (Executive Mayor) and Cllr Monique Simmers (Whip of Council).