Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

Big turnout at Day 1 of the Green Energy Summit

More than 140 delegates attended Day 1 of the Green Energy Summit at Fancourt in George. The purpose of the first engagement was to set the scene for Green Energy, debate issues and opportunities.
Green Energy Summit on Day 1 was well-attended.

Presentations were done by ‘Green Energy’ specialists from governmental institutions and the private sector. Speakers on day 1 included:

  • Western Cape Provincial Energy Security Game Changer
    – Dr Hildegarde Fast
  • Green Cape
    – Mr Jack Radmore
  • Council for Scientific and Industrial Research Energy Centre
    – Dr Clinton Carter-Brown
  • InovaSure
    – Mr Jaco de la Rouviere
  • Independent Power Producer (IPP) Projects Office
    – Ms Lolette Kritzinger-van Niekerk 
  • Green Building Council South Africa
    – Mr Grahame Cruickshanks
  • Western Cape Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning
    – Ms Lize Jennings-Boom 
  • Nelson Mandela University / uYilo
    – Mr Hiten Parmar 
  • Centre of Renewable & Sustainable Energy Studies, Stellenbosch University
    – Ms Karin Kritzinger 
  • South African Local Government Association
    – Mr Ryan Roberts 
  • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)
    – Mr Christopher Gross 
  • PowerX
    – Mr Derek Batte 
  • Microcare Solar
    – Mr Gareth Burley 
  • George Local Municipality – Various Green Energy initiatives
    – Mr Steyn van der Merwe
  • Thebe Solar Energy 75MW Dysselsdorp Solar PV Project
    – Mr Gert Linde
  • MBH Energy, Biomass to Energy project in George
    – Mr Karl Siege 
  • Biowise, Bio Mimicary
    – Ms Sue Swain 
All presentations of Day 1 of the Summit are accessible here:
In summing-up day one of the Summit, the audience was given the opportunity to raise important questions to speakers about points of clarity.
Municipal Manager, Executive Managers and Strategic Manager of Eden District Municipality at the Green Energy Summit which is currently underway at Fancourt, George. Fltr, are: Mr Clive Africa (Executive Manager: Department Community Services), Mr Monde Stratu (Municipal Manager), Ms Louise Hoek (Executive Manager: Department Financial Services), Mr Thembani Loliwe (Strategic Manager), Ms Trix Holtzhausen (Executive Manager: Department Corporate Services) and Mr Lusanda Menze (Executive Manager: Department Planning and Economic Development).