17 August 2021 Media Release:  New Quarantine and Isolation facility to relieve pressure in the Garden Route

Media Release:  New Quarantine and Isolation facility to relieve pressure in the Garden Route

For Immediate Release
17 August 2021

On Wednesday, 4 August 2021, a new Quarantine & Isolation facility has been open at the Gateway Lodge, 6km outside of George.

The Gateway Lodge site and PetroSA sites are the designated quarantine and isolations facilities in the Garden Route district. In terms of proximity, people from George, Knysna, Bitou and Oudtshoorn will first be accommodated at Gateway Lodge, which has a 28-bed capacity; if this site becomes full, those in quarantine and isolation, will be moved to PetroSA. People from Mossel Bay, Hessequa and Kannaland will be accommodated at the PetroSA facility which has a 150-bed capacity.

Both these sites are operational seven days a week and accept persons between 09h00 and 17h00 daily. The process for any public member requiring either quarantines or isolation facilities is to contact the local Provincial Department of Health sub-district health representative, who will assess the request and make the necessary arrangements.

It is important to note that if a person tested positive for coronavirus, they need to isolate. And if you have symptoms or have come into close contact with someone who has coronavirus, they are required to be in quarantine. If you can isolate or quarantine safely at home, do so, but if it is not possible, don’t hesitate to get in touch with the local Provincial Department of Health sub-district health representative.

Contact details:

Knysna/Bitou subdistrict:

Contact number:  044 302 8405 / Laurel.Giddy@westerncape.gov.za

Kannaland subdistrict:

Contact number: 028 551 1010 / Tina-Louise.Meiring@westerncape.gov.za

Oudtshoorn subdistrict:

Contact number: 044 203 7207 / Joyce.Matyhila@westerncape.gov.za

George subdistrict:

Contact number: 044 814 1124/5 / Tersius.Ackerman@westerncape.gov.za

Mossel Bay subdistrict:

Contact number: 044 604 6194 / Maria.Manuel@westerncape.gov.za

Hessequa subdistrict:

Contact number: 028 713 8640 / Elizabeth.Braaf@westerncape.gov.za