Press Release: Alderman/Alderlady status conferred upon seven (7) Councillors of the Garden Route District Municipality

Press Release
For Immediate Release
30 June 2020

Municipal Honours was bestowed on seven (7) Garden Route District Municipality (GRDM) Councillors, who are now officially recognised as Alderman Memory Booysen (Executive Mayor), Alderman Barend Groenewald (Speaker), Alderlady Rosina Ruiters (Deputy Executive Mayor), Alderman Stephen De Vries, Alderlady Georlene Wolmarans, Alderman Virgil Gericke and Alderman Pieter Van Der Hoven.

This was the number of Councillors who met the minimum criteria of 10 points as set out in section 5(10)(a) of a GRDM policy approved by Council on 27 May 2020. The conferment ceremony took place at a council meeting today, 30 June 2020 in view of the GRDM Council – some at the Council Chambers, others via Zoom.

The bestowment of Alderman or Alderlady statuses occurs upon the commencement of a councillor’s term as Executive Mayor, Executive Deputy Mayor or Speaker of Council. Furthermore, any Councillor who obtains a minimum of ten (10) points on the following scale, also qualifies for the conferment: One (1) point for every year of service as a Councillor at one or more municipalities and it need not be continuous; and one (1) additional point for every year of service as a member of the Mayoral Committee.

Aldermen/Alderladies also receive the following privileges:

  • provision of a special parking space in the municipal parking area on prior arrangement;
  • provision of agendas even after retirement in electronic format if so required;
  • Alderman/Alderlady is kept on municipal invitation lists; and
  • reserving of special seats at Council Meetings should a member so wish; issuing of an Honorary certificate.

The conferment of Councillors to Alderman or Alderlady has not happened at GRDM over the past 10 years, which is a highlight for the 2016/2021 term of Council.

Feature image caption: Executive Mayor Memory Booysen (left) receives his certificate confirming his conferment of Alderman status by Speaker Barend Groenewald (right).